Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Congratulations to Mr. Andy Stumpf, Horace Mann and IPA Middle School Principal of the year.

Winchester Schools

Sports Pictures are March 10th - see article below for more details.

  • 2021 Horace Mann & IPA Middle School Principal of the Year - MR. ANDY STUMPF


    Horace Mann and the Illinois Principals Association are pleased to announce that Andy Stumpfprincipal of Winchester Elementary/Junior High School, Winchester, has been named 2021 Illinois Middle School Principal of the Year. The award recognizes middle school principals who have demonstrated a positive impact on their students and learning community. Criteria for the award include:

    * Demonstrates a positive impact on education and advocacy for children

    * Ensures the school climate is positive and reflects high staff and student morale

    * Move actively to implement the goals and objectives of the school

    * Works collaboratively with teachers and other staff to improve the educational program and student achievement

    * Involves the community in the life of the school and uses community resources for students.

    Andy Stumpf has served as principal at Winchester Elementary/Junior High School for the last 5 years. He previously served as principal at Brussels Junior/Senior High School in Brussels and taught math at Carrollton Grade School. Stumpf has been an active member of the Illinois Principals Association for 8 years and is currently in his second year as Legislative Chair for the Two Rivers Region. He has also been active within the IPA by hosting two legislators at Winchester for the IPA Principal for a Day program and will be an IPA Education Leaders Annual Conference speaker this month presenting on the positive impact a building leadership team has on a school.

    “Sharing leadership is a key component in any successful school building. When staff members take an active role in leading their building, there is great buy-in for everyone,” said Stumpf. During his time at Winchester, Stumpf has created the WGS Building Leadership Team (BLT) consisting of five staff members representing all grade levels as well as special education. This group established Professional Learning Communities (PLC) to help with shared leadership. He also feels it is important to visit classrooms regularly to be visible, model appropriate behavior, provide support, and make sure the entire staff knows he is supportive of them.”

    “Andy has an incredible work ethic and will often step in to assist staff. In the kitchen, on the playground, in the office, and performing maintenance project or clean up. Andy is often involved with before and after school activities involving parent teacher conferences, PTO fundraisers, open house, athletics, and fine art presentations,” shared Dr. Kevin Blankenship, Winchester Superintendent. As part of his goal of bringing the community into Winchester Elementary School, Andy has established “Grandparents Breakfast,” “Doughnuts with Dads” and “Muffins with Moms.”

    “Our principal isn’t afraid of change, but at the same time, he realizes that change needs to happen strategically. At the beginning of 2018, Winchester Grade School was informed of its “Underperforming” status,” shared Katie Maul, 7th & 8th grade teacher at Winchester Grade School. “Mr. Stumpf knew that change was essential in improving effectiveness and efficiency throughout the school. However, he didn’t make any rash decisions or immediate changes. Instead, he, along with the assistance of the ROE, worked to set up a Building Leadership Team (BLT). As one of the members of this team, I can say its establishment has changed the way the entire school operates. This act created a domino effect that led to a shared leadership initiative that helps the school work more collaboratively in order to hone in on specifically where and how we can implement improvements.”

    The Middle School Principal of the Year winner was selected from a pool of region nominees provided by the 21 Regions of the Illinois Principals Association. Andy Stumpf will be recognized at the IPA’s annual Education Leaders Annual Conference in October 2021.


    WCUSD#1 - Held a district meeting to announce and honor him.

    read more
  • JH & HS Sports Photos



    JH & HS Sports Photos will be for March 10th beginning right after school.

    This includes: JH Volleyball; JH Girls Basketball; JH Boys Basketball; JH Cheer; HS Girls Basketball; HS Boys Basketball; HS Cheer; HS Football and HS Volleyball.

    Here is the online codes: inter-state.com

    Jr. High Online Order Code = 58049FA

    High School Online Order Code = 58049QA


    read more
  • Special Joint Board Meeting

    read more
  • WJH February 2021 Students of the Month





      Congratulations to the Winchester Junior High Students of the Month for February 2021.



        8th Grade - Bella Blanton - 


        7th Grade - Ryker Ford - 




        6th Grade - Jacob Valentine


    read more
  • Return to School In Person

    read more
  • Attention Please: We need your help

    Pictures Needed




    Attention WCC community WGS and WHS is in need of your help capturing important moments this year at sporting events. We request that you use the following link to send in your photos of WGS and WHS sporting events. Any photos from any sporting event this year can be submitted to this one form. You do need a Gmail account to submit photos. Any student account or personal Gmail account can upload photos. Though this form is preferred, you can also email photos to Mrs. Moran-Cortes at emcortes@winchesterschools.net. The link to send photos is:  https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSc_yiFp4KPkwWojATPx6qB6EIv3PjqilwP2sFaAS0Uz_QS3oQ/viewform?usp=sf_link

    Elena Moran-Cortes

    English Teacher
    High School Yearbook Adviser
    Grade School Yearbook Adviser
    Student Council Adviser
    read more
  • WC Athletic Spectator guidelines

    read more
  • Quarantine update - IDPH

    IDPH released updated guidance for a shortened quarantine period on January 4th.  In consultation with our local health department and local/community COVID metrics, we delayed implementing these shortened periods until the number of positive cases and rates made it safe to do so.  After reviewing this month's COVID metrics we will transition to the shortened quarantine period beginning Monday, February 1.

    The new shortened quarantine period will be 10 days for all cases.  Here is the link to the guidance FAQ's


    IDPH School FAQ's


    While there is an option for a 7 day test and return on day 8, the test must be PCR and requires to be sent out for analysis.  Our local health department has advised that those current tests often take 2-5 days to get back, therefore we will not provide that option at this time.


    read more
  • Indoor Sports guidelines & restrictions

    read more
Previous FeatureNext Feature